Dr. Neville Fernando Football Championship Trophy
- Inaugural Match (SAITM vs ANC)

Date : 28 May 2014

The inaugural match of the Dr. Neville Fernando football championship trophy was played between the South Asian Institute of Technology and Medicine (SAITM) and The American National College (ANC) on the 28 th of May at the city league grounds in Colombo. The game kicked off at approximately 5:00 pm and displayed 60 minutes of exceptional football talent by both teams.

The SAITM team managed to get the ball rolling with a goal early in the 10 th minute courtesy of a header by captain Ammar Jawfer nudged in by Sihan Jayawardena. ANC was however quick with an equaliser by winger Aaron Segram in the 25 th minute despite the efforts of SAITM goalie Mohammad Yazeer.

The ANC team's defence was matched well with SAITM's attackers and half time saw both teams tied at 1-1 in a fierce battle between two worthy opponents.

The second half brought on a tenser atmosphere as both teams struggled to gain an edge providing a nail biting experience to supporters from both teams. The 45 th minute however brought on a second goal by ANC's Yaseen Shaheed which was assisted by Abaas Abdulmalik to bring the scores to 2-1 in favour of ANC. Despite many attempts made by the SAITM team they could not find a clear shot to equalise leaving the scores in favour of ANC as the final whistle blew.

The man of the match title was awarded to Abaas Abdulmalik with the awards for Best Goalie and best midfielder going to Ruchinda Seth and Aaron Segram from ANC. SAITM captain Ammar Jawfer managed to clinch the title of Best Attacker with the title of Best defender going to Ruwinda Samarajeewa also of SAITM.

Despite SAITM's defeat the encounter proved to be an exciting and fun filled event for all present. The SAITM football team together with the organising committee wishes to extend their congratulations to the ANC team and heartfelt gratitude to all supporters.